The Jizera Mountains and their surroundings hide within a myriad beauties that are worthy for us to tell you about their magic. But don’t worry, we will not only familiarize you with the natural beauties but cultural ones as well, whose history leads us back several hundred years.
Important place of pilgrimage whose history dates back to the 13th century. One important structure is the protected Church of the Assumption. Today's church was originally a Gothic church from 1472. Today, Hejnice is linking back to its historical wish to function as a traditional place of pilgrimage. Unforgettable classical music concerts are held here in the Church of the Assumption.
Obří sud [the giant barrel] is a restaurant for hikers found above the town of Lázně Libverda, and from here we can gaze out at the stunning view of the Jizera Mountains. The building was built back in 1931 and mainly served spa guests. The model for this structure was the Giant Barrel on Javorník Mountain engulfed by fire on September 20, 1974. Thus today, this structure is a one-of-a-kind in the Czech Republic. Obří sud lies along marked hiking routes and cycle trails. Besides refreshments, it also offers tourist stamps and various souvenirs.
Originally standing at this site was a wooden, 20 m high lookout tower crowning the peak since August 21, 1892. An interesting detail is the fact that sufficiently long and straight tree trunks did not grow on Smrk, so necessity being the mother of invention, they built the four-story structure down in the valley and carried it up to the top piece by piece. This lookout tower was operational for an unbelievable 50 years, a remarkably long time for such a structure. Soon after the war - in 1946 - the tower burnt down and it wasn’t until September 20, 2003 that the opening ceremony was held for a new, iron lookout tower.
This town was founded by Melchior of Redern in 1584 for his miners who were mining the nearby mountain Měděnec for tin ore. The result of this period is the existence of many tunnels and shafts that now mainly serve as a winter sanctuary for bats. The oldest structure in the town is the Church of St. Catherine from 1607. Also noteworthy is the marble monument of local parson and traveler G. Mendel. Near the railroad is another small church from 1911, which is protected along with its statues. The local ethnography museum housed in the rooms of the municipal library awaits visitors with a fascinating collection from the history and nature of the Frýdlant Headland. The border crossing to Poland lies just a few kilometers from Nové Město.
This medieval town arose together with the chateau and castle of the same name. Still today, Frýdlant is the largest town lying along the river Smědá. Frýdlant obtained its rights as a city around 1537. Over time, the city's ownership changed hands. Its greatest flourishing occurred under the rule of Albrecht von Wallenstein. Thanks to the fact that the city is the natural center of the Frýdlant Headland, an entire series of rare cultural monuments were built here, leading to its eventual declaration as a protected monument zone.
The town hall was built in 1893-96 based on designs of Viennese architect Franz Neumann, also known for having created the town hall in Liberec. The municipal museum is housed upstairs on the town hall second floor, showcasing exhibits of the nature and history of the Frýdlant region. The museum does not only collect the most important artifacts of famous countrymen, but also objects that were used by the local inhabitants every day in centuries gone by. One museum curiosity is a huge model carved by the sculptor Kindermann of the original town hall that once stood in the middle of the square.
The chateau is not only one of the most significant dominant features of the city, but one of the most distinctive monument units in the Czech Republic, representing the link between a medieval castle and a Renaissance chateau. The castle's history reaches back to the 13th century, and Albrecht von Wallenstein, a strong figure of the 30 Years War, left his indelible mark on it. The original likeness of the Gothic castle has only been partially preserved. This includes only parts of massive structures and the large cylindrical tower. The Renaissance appearance came gradually at the turn of the 17th century. The family Clam-Gallas first made the chateau areas open to the public in 1801. Today the chateau holds collections of porcelain and glass, furniture and chateau facilities. Just as interesting as the rich collection of weapons from the period of the Hussite Wars to the 19th century is the chateau painting gallery, featuring works of Baroque masters, or the unique collection of smoking pipes.
Welcome to the website of the restored Chateau Brewery Frýdlant. The first mentioning of brewing beer in Frýdlant goes back to 1381, and apparently the local regal brewery has stood where it is now located since the 16th century. Years of development and reconstruction ended in 1949 when the last batch was brewed here. Over the next decades, the complex was inappropriately and inadequately used as a warehouse for cheese and vegetables, which related to its neglected maintenance. Since June 2014, people can taste the beer Albrecht in the close and more distant surroundings of the brewery. This beer is brewed in the restored Chateau Brewery Frýdlant.
This unique Christmas nativity scene was built by local builder Gustav Simon. This work, sixty years in the making, contains over 100 moving figures of persons and animals, controlled by small ropes. You can find the nativity scene close to T. G. Masaryk Square on Zahradní street by the post office parking lot. If the nativity scene operator is not there, just ring the doorbell marked “Betlém” on the house opposite, where you can arrange a visit to the nativity scene even outside its hours of operation.
This Neo-Renaissance town hall was built in 1888-93 based on designs of Viennese architect Franz Neumann, and it is no wonder that it is similar in appearance to Vienna’s town hall. Above the massive entrance portal, our eyes lead to a stone relief representing the founding of the old and new town hall, and the balustrade balcony from where many important figures have spoken. It features a 65 m high tower topped with a sculpture of a knight. Also noteworthy are the decorated facades, magnificent stained glass windows and exquisite ceremonial hall.
Today's likeness came from the joining of the municipalities Raspenava, Luh, Lužec and Peklo. The exact date of the town's establishment is unknown. It was first mentioned in 1343. One invaluable structure is the Neo-Baroque church from 1907. Nearby is a lovely Baroque gate complementing an Art Nouveau rectory. By the church lies the family tomb of the industrialist Richter designed by notable architect F. Neumann.
The city of Dresden is worth visiting mainly for its monuments such as the Baroque chateau Pillnitz from 1720-23 or the chateau complex Residenzschloss. Other points of interest include the State Opera, the museum, the botanical garden and the zoo. Perhaps the best known places in Dresden are the gallery Zwinger and the Church Frauenkirche rebuilt long after its WWII destruction.
Border town founded back in 1071, featuring the yet-preserved medieval fortifications with towers and gates.
This is the gateway to the Zittau Mountains, a paradise for mountain climbers, hikers and nature lovers. Here you’ll find the Baroque Noacksches Haus, the church Johanniskirche and the Neo-Renaissance town hall.
This city standing on the foundations of an original Slavic trading settlement, which obtained the status of a city in 1592, had already been permitted since 1519 to hold markets. Throughout history, the main economic activity here involved weaving and mining iron ore. At the start of the 20th century, the existing electrified rail line was extended into Sklářská Poruba, the so-called Zackenbahn, and up to Bohemian Kořenov, where it linked to the Tanwald cog railway. Excursion destinations include the remains of the city fortifications, the castle ruin Chojnik, the Minor Basilica of Saints Erasmus and Pancras or the 18th-century Saints Peter and Paul Orthodox Church.
Recreation, sports and hiking center at the boundary of the Jizera Mountains and Krkonoš Mountains, 6 km from the Harrachov Czech border crossing. Near the city is a series of cross-country ski trails and downhill ski slopes. Their center is found under the mountain Szrenica whose top is reached by a chair lift.
Gothic - Renaissance fortress in Southern Poland. It is found roughly 35 km northwest of the city of Jelenia Góra, on Lake Leśnia. Its appearance has made it a favorite filming location among directors. Castle Czocha was built in the mid-14th century at the initiative of Bohemian King Wenceslas II as a defensive stronghold on the Bohemian-Polish border.
In 1434, Castle Czocha was invaded by Hussites. It resisted onslaughts by the Swedes during the Thirty Years War. As of 1453, Castle Czocha was owned by the influential and rich family of von Nostitz, which ruled here for 250 years. In the mid-16th century, Johann von Nostitz began the major transformation of the medieval castle into a romantic Renaissance residence.
Turistům nabízí Hrad Czocha prohlídku architektonicky nejzajímavějších místností jako např. dvoupatrový rytířský sál či knížecí ložnice s impozantní manželskou postelí s baldachýnem. Najdeme zde i tajné podzemní chodby, bastion či věž.
Z filmů, které zde byly natočeny můžeme jmenovat např.: "Kde je pan generál" (Gdzie jest generao) či "Tajemství pevnosti šifer" (Tajemnica twierdzy szyfrow) či dokumentární pořad "Senzace 20. stol. " (Sensacje XX wieku).